2019 Bollingen Prize Judges

2021 Bollingen Prize Judges

Charles Bernstein: Winner of the 2019 Bollingen Prize for American Poetry, Bernstein is the author of numerous books of poetry, including Near/MissRecalculating, and All the Whiskey in Heaven: Selected Poems, among many others. His collections of essays include Pitch of PoetryAttack of the Difficult Poems: Essays and Inventions, and A Poetics. Bernstein is also known for his translations, collaborations with artists, and libretti. With Al Filreis, he is the co-founder of PennSound, an extensive archive of recorded poetry. Bernstein was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in 2006. Other awards and honors include Janus Pannonius Grand Prize for Poetry, the Münster Prize for International Poetry; a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship; and a National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship. Bernstein is Donald T. Regan Professor Emeritus of English and Comparative Literature at the University of Pennsylvania.

Maureen N. McLane: Educated at Harvard, Oxford, and the University of Chicago, McLane has published six books of poetry, including This Blue (Finalist for the 2014 National Book Award in Poetry), Some Say (2017 finalist for the Audre Lorde/Publishing Triangle Award and for The Believer Award in Poetry), and What I’m Looking For: Selected Poems. Her book, My Poets, an experimental hybrid of memoir and criticism, was a 2012 finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Autobiography. She has also published two critical monographs on British romantic poetics and numerous essays on contemporary literature and culture. Honors include a Rhodes Scholarship; fellowships at Harvard’s Society of Fellows and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science (Berlin); and the NBCC Nona Balakian Award for Excellence in Book Reviewing. Her poems have been translated into French, Greek, Spanish, Italian, and Czech. She is Professor of English at NYU.

Nicole Sealey: Born in St. Thomas, U.S.V.I. and raised in Apopka, Florida, Sealey is the author of Ordinary Beast, finalist for the PEN Open Book and Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards, and The Animal After Whom Other Animals Are Named, winner of the Drinking Gourd Chapbook Poetry Prize. Her honors include a Rome Prize from the American Academy in Rome, a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University, the Stanley Kunitz Memorial Prize from The American Poetry Review and a Poetry International Prize, as well as fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, CantoMundo, Cave Canem, MacDowell, The New York Foundation for the Arts and the Poetry Project. Her work has appeared in Best American Poetry 2018The New Yorker, the Paris Review and elsewhere. Formerly the executive director at Cave Canem Foundation, she is a visiting professor at Boston University and Syracuse University.